A walkthrough of connecting Precision to Xero & QBO can be found in our Getting Started guide.
Syncing the data
When a client is first linked to Precision, the initial sync imports all the historical information available from the GL.
Once the initial sync is complete, subsequent syncs only look for and import the changes since the last sync, which is much faster. You can see the last time a client was successfully synced on the card in the Client List, and on the Client Overview.
Precision will sync with your accounting software to get the latest changes each night. If you make some changes in your GL and don’t want to wait for the overnight sync, you can also start a manual sync. This can be done using the Sync Now button available in the top left hand side of the navigation bar when viewing a client.
TIPThink your sync is taking too long? Our troubleshooting may help.
Managing the accounting software connection
Your client will remain connected and in sync with your GL unless you tell Precision otherwise. Disconnecting a client from the GL will mean that the client will remain in Precision in its current state – it will no longer receive updates from your accounting software. You can do this via the Unlink button on the Client Overview page.
If a client is not connected to any accounting software this will be indicated by the open padlock and the Link to Xero/QBO button. If you wish to link a client back up, clicking this will redirect you to Xero or QBO for re-authentication. Precision will do a sync after re-linking, so that it is up to date with any changes.
For information on how to disconnect an app within Quickbooks, see their help here.
Xero also provide a way of removing connected apps directly from their site.
WARNINGEven if disconnected, your client’s data will remain in Precision until the client is deleted.