How to Remove a Client from your Dext Prepare Account

There are two options available when removing a Client from your Partner Account:

Disconnecting a client: completely removes the client from your account and severs the connection.

Deactivating a client: you keep access to the client account but suspend their Dext Prepare services.

Note: If you wish to remove a client account that only has auto-generated users (i.e. the client has been created, but the send invitation step has been skipped), the only option is to deactivate the client. If you wish to disconnect the client, you must first invite a user to the client account.


Disconnecting a Client

Go to:

1. My Clients in the Manage section of the sidebar,
2. Click Manage next to the client you wish to disconnect,
3. Then click Remove Client.

4. Click the Disconnect Client button.

5. The next screen will explain what the Disconnection process means for both you and your client. If you would like to proceed, click Next.

6. You will then need to select an account owner for the disconnected client. This should be the main business owner. Once you have made the selection, click Disconnect.

7. Once the Disconnection is complete, you will see a notification banner. You and your client will also be sent an email confirming the disconnection.

Please Note: The Disconnection process is permanent and can only be reversed by the Client inviting the Accountant or Bookkeeper to reconnect.

Once your client has been disconnected, they will be able to start a free trial of our Dext Prepare product built for businesses or connect to a new accountant or bookkeeper.


Deactivating a Client

Go to:

1. My Clients in the Manage section of the sidebar,

2. Click Manage next to the client you wish to disconnect,

3. Then click Remove Client.

4. Click the Deactivate Client button.

5. The next screen will explain what the Deactivation process means for both you and your client. If you would like to proceed, click Next.

6. You will then need to select an account owner for the deactivated client. This should be the main business owner. Once you have made the selection, click Deactivate.

7. Once the Deactivation is complete, you will see a notification banner. You and your client will also be sent an email confirming the deactivation.

Please Note: The Deactivation process is reversible and these clients can be Reactivated.

Once your client is deactivated, they will have the option to start a free trial of our Dext Prepare products built for businesses.


Remove a Self-paying Client 

Because a self-paying client has their own subscription to Dext Prepare the process is simpler as you can only Disconnect the client from your Partner Account.

Go to:

1. My Clients in the Manage section of the sidebar,

2. Click Manage next to the client you wish to disconnect,

3. Then click the Disconnect button.

4. The next screen will explain what the Disconnection process means for both you and your client. If you would like to proceed, click Next.

5. Once the Disconnection is complete, you will see a notification banner. You and your client will also be sent an email confirming the disconnection.


To Reactivate a Deactivated client:

Go to:

1. My Clients in the Manage section of the sidebar.

2. Then go to the Deactivated Clients tab.

3. Search or scroll down to find the correct Client, then click the Reactivate button on the right.

4. Your Client will receive an email confirming the Reactivation.