How to Turn On Two-step Authentication for Your Account

Turn on two-step authentication for an extra layer of security when you log in to your Dext Prepare account. It’s designed so to make sure that you’re the only person who can access your account, even if someone else knows your password.

When two-step authentication is activated, anyone trying to log in to your Dext Prepare account will need two different security measures. These are:

After you’ve entered your username and password to log in to Dext Prepare, you’ll be asked to enter a verification code. This is generated by the authenticator app on your mobile phone, and makes sure that no-one else has the information needed to access your account.

2FA5.png

After you’ve typed in your Authentication code, you can select ‘Don’t ask me for the code for 7 days‘. This will keep your account authenticated for the next 7 days. You won’t need to enter a new code, even if you sign in to Dext Prepare from a different device or browser.

To turn on Two-step Authentication:

  1. Log in to your Dext Prepare account
  2. Click on ‘My Profile‘ and ‘My Details‘.
  3. Click ‘Enable’ on ‘Two-step Authentication‘.

twofactor.png

  1. Read the instructions and then click ‘GetStarted
  2. Enter the password you use to log in to Dext Prepare. Click ‘Next
  3. Scan the QR code using your authenticator app, or use the ‘Enter Manually‘ menu to type the 16-digit code in to your authenticator app.

2FA2.png

  1. Copy the 6-digit code from your authenticator app into the setup screen on Dext Prepare. Click ‘Next‘.

2FA3.png

  1. You’ll be shown a number of backup codes. Copy these and keep them safe. You should only use these to log in to Dext Prepare if you don’t have your phone and cannot access the authenticator app. After you use a backup code once, you won’t be able to use it again.

2FA4.png

  1. Click ‘Enable two-step authentication‘. The setup is now complete.
  2. If you ever want to deactivate 2-factor authentication, return to the ‘My Details’ section of the ‘My Profile’ page and click ‘Disable’.