How to Add a User to Your Account

You can create additional users on your Dext Prepare account.

When you add a User or Colleague, you have the option to skip the invitation to invite the user to access the Dext Prepare account, or to invite them to access the account themselves with a specific level of User Privileges.

Related articles:

Plans & User limits: there may be a limit on the amount of users your account can have depending on which Dext product you use. Learn more about the different account types and features here.

Important: From the 24th of October you will not be able to add clients if you are over your client bundle plan limit. Access to your existing clients will not be affected. Visit your subscription page to view your plan details and upgrade your client bundle.

If you are an admin user you can purchase additional users or upgrade your user bundle plan in app, by going to My Profile > Subscription.


Inviting a User or Colleague

When you add a User or Colleague, you have the option to skip the invitation to invite the user to access the Dext Prepare account, or to invite them to access the account themselves as a user with User Privileges.

Skipping the Invitation
Skipping the invitation allows a user to be added to a document as a Document owner, and to submit documents via their unique email in addresses, but they will not be invited to access the Dext Prepare account for themselves.

Invited Users with user privileges
Users that are invited to access the account will have access to the mobile or web app and have the ability to submit, view and edit paperwork depending on their User Privilege level. You assign this level when the user is created and can change it at any time.


How to add a user to your own account, or add a user to a client account

1. Scroll down to the ‘Manage’ or ‘Manage Client’ section on the sidebar menu.

2. Clicking on ‘MyTeam’or ‘Users’.

3. Selecting the green ‘Add a user’ button.

image.png

4. Complete the details for the person you want to invite to Dext Prepare.

If you want to skip the invitation, and not invite the user to access the Dext Prepare account now, click Skip invitation.

Note: You can invite the user at a later date by going to My Team or Users > Manage > Invite and following steps 5-7 below.

5. Confirm the user role and edit their user privileges.

image.png

6. Choose whether to send an invitation to the new user via email or text message.
Screenshot 2022-05-19 at 09.22.27.png

7. Complete the process by clicking on the Add user button in green. The new user will be added to the account.


How to add a Colleague

If you’re using one of Dext Prepare plans made for Accountants and Bookkeepers, you can add a colleague to your account. You must be an administrator or have administrator rights to add a colleague.

You can customise the level at which your colleague can access your own practice account and choose which Clients they are able to access. To learn more about ‘User Privilege’ click here. To learn more about ‘Adding a Client’ to your account, click here.

To add a colleague:

1. Scroll down to the ‘Manage’ section on the sidebar menu.

2. Clicking on ‘MyTeam’.

3. Selecting the green ‘Add a Colleague’ button.

image.png

4. Complete the details for your colleague.

If you want to skip the invitation, and not invite them to access the Dext Prepare account now, click Skip invitation.

Note: You can invite the user at a later date by going to My Team > Manage > Invite and following steps 5-7 below.

addcolleague 1.png
5. Confirm the user role and edit their user privileges.

image.png

6. Select which Client accounts your colleague can access.

image.png

7. Choose whether to send an invitation to your new colleague via email or text message.

add a colleague 2.png

8. Click the Add Colleague button to complete the process.


How to Edit User Privileges

After a user has been created, you can edit their user privilege by

1. Going to My Team or Users.
2. Click on Manage.
3. Then Edit User Privileges.