2FA & Trusted Devices

Use the trusted devices feature when using 2 Factor Verification to verify a device only once, instead of having to verify it every 30 days.

It’s important to note that by “device” we mean a session in a web browser. For example, if you use Chrome and Firefox on the same device, they will appear as 2 trusted devices. If you open a new incognito tab in your browser, it will also be treated as a separate device by the system.


Verifying a Trusted Device

To verify a device as trusted:

  1. Log into your Dext account.
  1. You will then receive a verification code via your chosen 2FA method. Enter the code and click Verify.
  1. You will then be redirected to a new page where you can choose to trust the device by clicking Trust Device. Dext won’t ask for a verification code when you next login if you chose to verify the device.

    You can also click Skip if you do not wish to trust the device.
  1. You will then receive an email confirmation that the device is added to your trusted devices list.

If you skip trusting the device you will also receive an email alerting you to the fact that you have logged into your account on a device you don’t usually use.


Managing Trusted Devices

You can manage your trusted devices by going to:

  1.  The profile icon in the top right of the screen, then to Security.
  1. Your trusted devices will be ordered by their usage date. The “Last Login” will be updated every time the verification is skipped.

    You can rename the device by clicking the pencil icon next to the name.

    You can also delete a trusted device by clicking Remove next to the listed device. By removing the device you will automatically be logged out from your account on this device and will have to go through the two-factor authentication process to sign in on it again.

What to Do if Your Trusted Devices Aren’t Being Remembered

If you are being asked for a verification code every time you log into your Dext account on the same device your browser may be wiping your data in the background.

See your Browser below for how to resolve this issue:


CHROME

  1. Go to your Chrome settings by clicking the 3 dots in top right corner.
  2. From the list, click Settings.
  3. On the next page go to Privacy and security on left sidebar.
  4. Go to Site Settings.
  5. At the bottom of the page click Additional content settings, then from the list that appears click On-device site data.
  6. On the On-device site data page select the Allow sites to save data on your device order to keep you cookies when re-open Chrome.

MOZILLA

  1. Go to your settings by clicking the 3 dots in top right corner.
  2. Click Privacy and security from the left sidebar.
  3. Go to the Cookies and Site Data section.
  4. Make sure that Delete cookies and site data when Firefox is closed is not checked.

EDGE

  1. Open your Edges Settings via the 3 dots in upper right corner.
  2. Click Privacy, Search, and Services from left sidebar.
  3. In the Clear browsing data section go to Choose what to clear every time you close the browser.
  4. Make sure Cookies and other site data is not enabled.

Using Trusted Devices with Multiple Dext Accounts

If you have multiple Dext accounts under different email addresses your trusted devices will not carry from one account to the other. You will need to use the multi account feature for these trusted devices to carry over. 


Trusted Mobile Devices

If you use the Dext app on your mobile phone, it will automatically appear as a trusted device. Your mobile phone is a trusted device by definition because you get access to the app by unlocking it with a “key” that only belongs to you such as a fingerprint, face recognition, PIN code.

Please note that, the “Last login” attribute in the table on your trusted devices list will also update any time you log in to this device or you use the device with an established session. If something doesn’t change your session such as a change in your password, the mobile device will automatically refresh your session which causes the update.