Multi-account support *In Testing*

Use one email address to login to multiple accounts.

Do you have two or more login details to access two or more Dext accounts?  We now provide a way for you to only use one set of login details to access all your businesses. 

Note: This functionality is currently in testing. We’ll let you know when testing is completed and the feature is available.


What is multi-account support

Multi-account support allows you to combine all your login details into one, while all the data in your businesses/practices remains untouched. 

After merging your login details, you can simply log in with your chosen main login and switch between your businesses/practices without having to log in and out.

Important to know: You can only merge your own login details, as you’ll be merging your other logins into the one you are logged into. After the merge, your main login details will be the access point to all your businesses/practices.


Email Verification

Merging multiple login details requires that the email address you choose to use as your only email address going forward is verified.

  • If the email address you’re logged in with is unverified, you’ll automatically be prompted to verify your email first. 
  • If your email is already verified this step will be skipped.

To verify your email:

  1. Log in to the web app with the login details you wish to keep as your unique log in credentials.
  2. Go to the Manage Profile icon in the top right of the screen, then Personal Details.
  1. There will be a banner at the top of the page. Click the Resend confirmation email link.

If you don’t see the banner, it means that your email has already been verified.

  1. A confirmation email will be sent to your email address. Click Confirm your email to complete the process.
Screenshot 2022-09-13 at 14.18.53.png

Merging Accounts

To merge accounts:

  1. Log in to the web app with the login details you wish to keep as your unique log in credentials.
  2. Go to the Manage Profile icon in the top right of the screen, then Personal Details.
  1. Go to Merge users and click the ‘Merge your Dext users to navigate between them’ link.
  1. Read the explanation of what merging accounts will do, then click Get started.
  2. Enter the login details for the account you wish to merge into the one you’re currently logged into, then click Next.
  1. On the final step, we’ll ask you to Confirm the merge. This will mean: 
    • The login details for the account that’s being merged are deleted, including any potential single sign-on you might have used to access that account (e.g. Google).
    • The lists of accounts you’ll be able to access with your current email address.
    • Confirm that the merge only affects how you log into this account and not the data within that account.

Inviting an Existing User to Your Account

You can now invite existing Dext users to your accounts, which means each user can be part of multiple businesses or practices.

To invite an existing user:

  1. Select the business you want to invite the user to from the account switcher in the top left of the page.
  1. Go to My Team in the sidebar
  2. Then click Add a user.

Adding multiple users is not yet supported.

  1. Add the User’s details, then select the User privilege level you wish to assign to the user, and finally enter the user’s email address and click Add user.

SMS invitations are not yet supported

The user will then receive an invitation to join your business.

  • If the user you’ve invited has already verified their email address they will automatically be added to your account and they will see the account switcher when they next log into their account.
  • If the user you invited hasn’t verified their email address yet, their invitation status will show as ‘Pending invitation’ on the My Team page. The invitation will be active for 1 week.
  • Users with unverified email addresses will be created as document owners only until they accept the invitation. This means that they will not be able to see the account switcher, and that you will be able to submit documents on their behalf but they will not be able to do so themselves until they accept the invitation. Accepting the invitation will also verify their email address.

You can re-invite the user from the Manage dropdown, or Cancel the invitation if needed when it’s still in the pending state (for instance if you misspelled the email address or invited the user by mistake).

Note: Once the user has accepted the invitation, their email address will be verified and you will no longer be able to change their email address or password (the user will be able to do so themselves).


You can easily switch between accounts in both the web and mobile apps with the account switcher.

In the Web app:

To navigate between different accounts:

  1. Go to the Account Switcher drop down in the top left of the page. 
  1. Then click the Business or Practice you would like to switch to.
  2. Click Continue to confirm you’d like to switch accounts.

In the Mobile App:

To navigate between different accounts:

  1. Go to the Account Switcher icon in the top right of the screen. 

2. Select the Business or Practice you wish to switch to from the list shown.